I have a friend with celiac.
This friend was given some migraine medication.
There was an ingredient cross reference run on the EHR to ensure no wheat was in the medication.
Still, my friend got very ill after taking the medication.

After a closer look, the medication did have wheat in it…as an inactive ingredient.

So the electronic health records system doesn’t appear to cross reference inactive ingredients when checking for allergies.

Be aware of this if you have celiac.

0 thoughts on “Medication ingredients and Celiac

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *